IAD Initiatives

The Information Assurance (IA) at the National Security Agency works at the cutting edge of Information Assurance (IA) technology. The following programs are key to driving IAD forward.

Active Cyber Defense (ACD)

Active Cyber Defense (ACD) is a component of the Department of Defense's (DoD) overall approach to defensive cyber operations. ACD is far more than just the enhancement of defensive cybersecurity capabilities for the DoD and the Intelligence Community.  ACD-defined capabilities and processes can be employed to support federal, state, and local government agencies and organizations, defense contractors, critical infrastructure segments, and industry.  The ability to rapidly and automatically share and understand threat information and analysis, cyber activity alerts, and response action is critical to enabling unity of effort in successfully detecting and defending against advanced cyber-attacks.

More about ACD »

Commercial National Security Algorithm Suite

In the current global environment, rapid and secure information sharing is important to protect our Nation, its citizens and its interests. Strong cryptographic algorithms and secure protocol standards are vital tools that contribute to our national security and help address the ubiquitous need for secure, interoperable communications. The Commercial National Security Algorithm Suite (CNSA Suite) will provide new algorithms for those customers who are looking for mitigations to perform, replacing the current Suite B algorithms.

More about CNSA Suite »

Commercial Solutions for Classified (CSfC)

The Commercial Solutions for Classified (CSfC) Program uses layered commercial solutions to create robust system architectures that protect information systems. CSfC is developing innovative methods to combine commercial products in multi-layered and trustworthy information systems to promote a defense-in-depth-approach that minimizes risk.

More about CSFC »

Community Gold Standard (CGS)

Community Gold Standard (CGS) is a comprehensive Information Assurance (IA) framework that describes the capabilities necessary to secure an enterprise. The goal of this framework is to provide guidance in coordination with appropriate policies, standards, and best practices, while also considering limitations set forth by current technologies.

More about CGS »

National Security Cyber Assistance Program (NSCAP)

The growing sophistication and number of cyber-attacks necessitate an equally vigorous and rapid response. In exploring viable approaches to more vigorously defend against cyber threats, NSA developed a strategy to leverage the cyber expertise of industry. This newly formed strategic initiative is called the National Security Cyber Assistance Program, or NSCAP.

More about NSCAP »


The TEMPEST Certification Program (TCP) consists of three closely related National Security Agency (NSA) programs administered by the Information Assurance (IA) at the National Security Agency: the Certified TEMPEST Products Program, the Certified TEMPEST Test Services Program, and the Zoned Equipment Program. Each of these programs involves partnerships with industry.

More about TEMPEST »

Last Reviewed: 13 May 2015